

David E. Hayes, Director

February 5, 2025

Subject: Clairmont Terrace Water Main Replacement Project

Dear Resident/Homeowner,

As part of DeKalb County's \$2.4 billion capital improvement program, the Department of Watershed Management (DWM) will be improving the capacity and service of the Watershed systems serving your community. The Clairmont Terrace Water Main Replacement Project has been designed to improve the watershed system in your community. This project is a continuation of the Woodacres Water Main Replacement Project in Wakefield Forest. The intent of this project is to alleviate the brown water that some homes in the subdivision have experienced.

This letter serves as formal notification that construction activities associated with the Clairmont Terrace Water Main Replacement Project will begin Monday, Feb. 10. Normal construction hours will be from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding major holidays. Property owners will be notified in advance of significant changes in scheduled work hours.

Please be advised to expect an increase in construction-related noise and traffic during work hours. Property owners will be notified 48 to 72 hours prior to the start of impactful construction activities. Our construction crews will work diligently to minimize the length of impact to residents.

Crews will replace 6,600 linear feet of water lines with new 8-inch ductile iron pipe (DIP). The replacement project is expected to last approximately 5 months (February 2025 to July 2025), barring any weather delays.

Ruby-Collins, working on behalf of DeKalb County, is the authorized contractor for the Clairmont Terrace Water Main Replacement Project. All workers will be wearing proper identification and driving marked vehicles.

Should you have any questions or concerns regarding the Clairmont Terrace Water Main Replacement Project, please do not hesitate to contact the DWM Project Information line at 1-800-986-1108 or email projectinfo@dekalbcountyga.gov.

Chief Executive Officer Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

> Board of Commissioners

District 1 Robert Patrick

District 2 Michelle Long Spears

> District 3 Nicole Massiah

District 4 Chakira Johnson

District 5 Mereda Davis Johnson

> District 6 Edward "Ted" Terry

> > District 7 LaDena Bolton