# DeKalb County Board of Registration and Elections Meeting Minutes

June 24, 2024

Start Time: 12:03 p.m. End Time: 12:30 p.m.

Board Attendees: Karli Swift, Chair

Vasu Abhiraman, Vice-Chair

Nancy Jester Anthony Lewis Susan Motter

Other Attendees: Keisha Smith, Executive Director

Terry Phillips, Deputy County Attorney

Shelley Momo, Senior Assistant County Attorney

Michael Petty, Assistant County Attorney

# APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Chair Swift called the Board of Registration and Elections meeting to order at 12:03 p.m. Ms. Austin read the roll by calling each board member by name. A quorum was met.

Motion by Ms. Jester, seconded by Ms. Motter to approve the agenda with the amendment of deferring item 6A, Director's Report, to the next meeting. The motion carried unanimously.

### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

Motion by Vice-Chair Abhiraman, seconded by Mr. Lewis, to approve the minutes of the May 28 scheduled meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

#### **PUBLIC COMMENTS**

Ms. Austin read the rules for public comment:

Public comments may be made in person or submitted by sending an email of one printed page or less at a minimum font of 12 to <a href="mailto:electionspubliccmnt@dekalbcountyga.gov">electionspubliccmnt@dekalbcountyga.gov</a> which must be received between 35 and 5 minutes before the scheduled start of the meeting. The body of your email must include your first and last name. By submitting an email for public comment, you agree to have your name and the email broadcast on the UStream and entered into the record and minutes. The DeKalb Board of Registration and Elections reserves the right, at the DeKalb Board of Registration and Elections' sole discretion, to (1) add your email to the record/minutes without reading any of it into the broadcast or (2) read all or a portion of your email into the record/minutes. All public comments will be limited to 2 minutes. Abusive, profane, or derogatory language, holding up signs, clapping, yelling, standing or laying in the aisles to show support for or opposition to a speaker will

not be permitted, but a show of hands or quietly standing in place will be permitted to show support for or opposition to a speaker's position.

The following citizens provided public comment:

- Bill Henderson
- Mary Barner

# **ITEMS FOR DECISION**

A) Certification of the June General Primary/Nonpartisan Election Runoff

Motion by Ms. Jester, seconded by Mr. Lewis, to certify the June General Primary/Nonpartisan Election Runoff.

Director Smith reported the election results and statistics of the 2024 General Primary/Nonpartisan Election Runoff. She shared the continued success of partnerships with other County departments and proceeded to thank all key stakeholders for another successful election cycle.

Ms. Jester asked if the data for the Election Day turnout was for general primary election runoffs specifically. Director Smith replied affirmatively. Ms. Jester also asked if anything was done during the election to change the programming of or L&A test any machine. Director Smith replied no.

Vice-Chair Abhiraman inquired about a rejected Election Day provisional ballot. Director Smith informed him that the ballot was rejected because the individual did not register in time. He also inquired about the differences in the numbers for times cast on the election summary report and why some races had more votes than others. Director Smith replied that some of the races were only on the Democratic ballot while some other races were on all of the ballots. Chair Swift further elaborated on the three ballots and respective contests, and further discussion ensued.

The motion passed unanimously.

#### **BOARD COMMENTS**

Ms. Motter thanked the Executive Director, staff, poll workers, and Law Department for their work during the election. She went on to thank the public for attending the meeting.

Ms. Jester stated that it was a great election and expressed her thanks.

Mr. Lewis thanked everyone.

Vice-Chair Abhiraman expressed his thanks.

Chair Swift announced that the VRE office would be closed on July 4<sup>th</sup> and 5<sup>th</sup>. She also thanked the public for their attendance.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Motion by Ms. Jester, seconded by Ms. Motter, to adjourn. The motion carried unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 12:30 p.m.