

DeKalb County, Georgia www.dekalbcountyga.gov



## **MEDIA CONTACT**

Emily Schwarz, Public Information Officer P: 404-371-2809 | M: 404-599-6881 Pauline A. Andrea, Public Information Officer P: 404-294-2092 | M: 404-971-2892

**FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE** April 16, 2015

## DeKalb County Government, DeKalb County School District Sign Intergovernmental Agreement

"DeKalb Makes Recycling Simple" event highlights partnership

**DECATUR, Ga.** – The DeKalb County Sanitation Division, in collaboration with the DeKalb County School District, hosted a "DeKalb Makes Recycling Simple" event on April 15, 2015. The event highlighted the intergovernmental agreement and partnership between the County and school district. The agreement provides for the services of recycling collection and disposal and heightened recycling education to the school district's facilities and schools.

"This partnership helps divert tons of trash from DeKalb's Seminole Road Landfill and keeps us a healthier and sustainable DeKalb," said DeKalb Interim CEO Lee May. "We currently have 50 schools signed on, and we hope to have all 139 DeKalb County Schools on board by the end of the year."



Redan High School's marching band kicked off the event at the DeKalb County Schools District Boardroom

(MORE)



Interim CEO Lee May speaks to the crowd of high school students and school and government officials about the partnership



(MORE)



DeKalb Board of Commissioners Presiding Officer Larry Johnson and Toney Blackmon, director, Business & Transportation Services, DeKalb School District, sign the symbolic intergovernmental agreement on April 15, 2015

For more information, contact DeKalb County Sanitation Division Public Information Officer Pauline A. Andrea, at 404-971-2892 or <u>paandrea@dekalbcountyga.gov</u>.

DeKalb County is Georgia's third largest county, with more than 700,000 residents calling it home. Known for its business and education hub, growing international community and natural wonders, DeKalb County Government is administered by <u>Interim Chief Executive Officer Lee May</u> and legislative policy is set by a seven-member <u>Board of Commissioners</u>.

Follow news from DeKalb County at <u>@ItsInDeKalb</u> on Twitter and sign up for additional updates at <u>www.onedekalb.com</u> or send a text message with the word ONEDEKALB to 22828 (message and data rates may apply).

###